Major Milestones September 2022 – April 2024 Lower Umatilla Groundwater Management Area Committee Report

Salini Sasidharan, Oregon State University

Chair, LUBGWMA Committee 09/22 - 04/24

- 1. Appointment of Chair Dr. Salini Sasidharan (Oregon State University) and Vice Chair Commissioner Dan Dorran (Umatilla County) September 2022
- 2. Formation of a Formal Committee with 11 members Representing Diverse Categories and Expertise September 2022 July 2023
 - Morrow County Commissioner Roy Drago Jr. (Primary); Tamra Mabbott (Alternate), Morrow County
 - Umatilla County Commissioner Dan Dorran (Former Committee Vice Chair, primary); Robert (Bob) Waldher (Alternate), Umatilla County
 - Tribal Government Eric Quaempts (Primary); Kate Ely (Alternate),
 Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR)
 - City Government Aaron Palmquist, City of Irrigon (Primary); David Stockdale, City of Umatilla (Alternate)
 - Science and Research Dr. Salini Sasidharan, Oregon State University
 (Former Committee Chair, Primary); Dr. Ruijun Qin (Ray) (Alternate)
 - Irrigated Agriculture Jake Madison (Primary); TBD (Alternate), Madison Farms
 - Livestock/Dairy/CAFO Greg Harris (Primary); Misty Edgecomb (Alternate),
 Threemile Canyon Farms
 - Industry and Business Ian Toevs, Lamb Weston (Primary); Debbie Radie,
 Boardman Foods, Inc. (Alternate)
 - Environmental Nonprofit Organizations Karen Lewotsky (Primary); Jana Gastellum (Alternate), Oregon Environmental Council
 - General Public (position 1) Kristin Anderson Ostrom (Primary); Kaleb Lay (Alternate), Oregon Rural Action
 - General Public (position 2) Jose Garcia, resident and community leader (Primary); Eric Ashford (Alternate)
- 3. Appoint Morrow County Soil and Water Conservation District as the Lead Agency for Implementation (Secretary for LUBGWMA Committee: Kevin D. Payne, District Manager Natural Resource Specialist) September 2022
- 4. Enhanced Website Interface and Communication December 2022
- 5. Appointing a Postdoc with the Institute of Water and Watershed and Department of Biological and Ecological Engineering, Oregon State University, to Develop a Conceptual Hydrogeology Model for the LUBGWMA December 2022
- 6. Establishment and Approval of Bylaws Providing a Structured Framework for Our Operations February 2023
- 7. LUBGWMA Committee was Established as a Public Body with Confirmation from the Department of Justice April 2023

- 8. Work closely with HDR to Draft a Roadmap to Implementation of the Second Action Plan May 2023
- 9. Statue Evaluation and Defining the Roles and Responsibilities of Various Agencies March 2023
- 10. A Comprehensive Evaluation of the Second Action Plan at the LUBGWMA Committee and Proposal for Multiday Workshop May 2023
- 11. Conducted the Regional Pre-Workshop Survey to Identify Workshop Format, Key Second Action Priorities and Participants July 2023
- 12. Hosting the First LUBGWMA Regional Workshop and Development an Actionable Roadmap to Success August 2023
 - o The outcomes included:
 - Prioritizing actionable goals, such as developing a groundwater model for the basin and dividing the GWMA into subsections.
 - Identifying funding sources.
 - Appointing a facilitator to serve as a liaison between the committee and agencies.
 - Developing a data platform.
 - Creating an inventory of best management practices.
 - Establishing a pilot study site for hotspots.
 - Forming action-oriented subcommittees.
- 13. Formation of Action-Oriented Subcommittee and Appointment of Subcommittee Coordinators December 2023
 - o Funding Subcommittee Coordinator/s: Dan Dorran (PM); Gregg Harris(AM)
 - Technical Subcommittee Coordinator/s: Salini Sasidharan (PM); Ian Toevs (AM)
 - Liaison and Partnership Subcommittee Coordinator/s: Jake Madison (PM);
 Karen Lewotsky (AM)
 - Communication Subcommittee Coordinator/s: Misty Edgecomb (PM); Debbie Radie (AM)
 - Best Management Practices Subcommittee Coordinator/s: Bob Waldher (PM);
 Tamra Mabbott (AM)
- 14. Established a LUBGWMA Committee Operational Structure and Decision-Making (Voting) Framework November 2023
- 15. Appointment of Facilitator Jane Hill, a Liaison between LUBGWMA Committee and State Agencies January 2024
- 16. Recruitment of Members for various Subcommittees via General Public Recruitment Call to Ensure the Inclusion of Regionwide Experts February 2024
- 17. Coordination of New Subcommittee Meetings and Establishment on Subcommittee Goals and Priorities March 2024
- 18. Completion of the Tenure as Chair by Dr. Salini Sasidharan and Vice Chair by Commissioner Dan Dorran and Completion of 15th LUBGWMA Committee Meeting April 2024
- 19. The First Visit of Directors from DEQ, ODA and OWRD at LUBGWMA Committee Meeting and Discussed the Path Forward for Resources and Agency Leadership - April 2024

20. Transition of Committee as The LUBGWMA Advisory Committee Inspired by Walla Walla Basin Advisory Committee (WWBAC) Under the Direction of Governor's Office - April 2024